Is it just me, or has “premium” vodka become a total scam compared to high-end gin?
I’m turning 30 next month, and I feel like my palate is finally hitting that “quality over quantity” phase. I used to be a die-hard vodka soda guy because it was “clean,” but lately, every expensive vodka just tastes like… well, expensive rubbing alcohol. I’ve started swapping it out for botanical spirits in my mixed drinks, and the difference is actually insane.
I recently picked up a bottle of Latin Beach because the Art Deco bottle looked cool, and it completely changed my perspective on what a citrus-forward base can do. It’s got these tropical notes that make it the best gin for cocktails if you’re trying to avoid that harsh medicinal aftertaste. Now I’m wondering if I’ve just been sleeping on gin this whole time while overpaying for flavorless vodka.
What do you guys think? Is there actually a “top tier” vodka that competes with a well-distilled gin, or are we all just paying for the marketing and the glass bottle at this point? I’m looking for something that actually adds character to a drink rather than just hiding in it.
submitted by /u/6deki9
[link] [comments]
